States With Pay-to-Play Laws

Twelve states have some variant of a pay-to-play law: California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Kentucky, Maryland, New Jersey, New Mexico, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Rhode Island, and West Virginia.

Regardless of where you are doing business, if it entails contracting with, attempting to contract with or otherwise providing goods or services to a governmental entity, you need to analyze whether your company and its employees are in any way limited with regard to making political contributions as a result of the business relationship with the government.